Marvel’s “Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D”

When I saw the preview for this show, I had high hopes for it because I love all things super-hero related. I really wanted to like this show and was hoping it’d hook me on like the first two seasons of Heroes. But to my dismay, it was a grave disappointment. Maybe I shouldn’t have set my expectations so high… but the preview hyped it up as some awesome TV Show related to The Avengers!

So we pretty much get all the main characters thrown at us in the first episode, with no back story whatsoever. There’s a lot of action and the scenes move quick, but unfortunately the character development doesn’t really move at the same pace. The details of the scene become the main focus, whilst the characters are just kind of there to help play out the scene. What’s wrong with this?

Well the viewer is left feeling disconnected from the plot. You only care about whether or not someone’s about to be shot in the face if you like them, yet the show has done nothing to make the characters likable! I will make two exceptions though: the two bickering scientists, Leo (Ian De Caestecker) and Jemma (Elizabeth Henstridge), my only two loves on the show (mostly Elizabeth because she’s oh so pretty). Their banter is more witty and intelligent than anything that will ever come out of Skye’s mouth.

Who is Skye (Chloe Bennet)? Well I’m guessing she’s the leading lady. Her character is a civilian hacker who works for an anti-government group called “The Rising Tide”. I don’t know why but she annoys THE crap out of me. She’s introduced as “bubbly and goofy” but “also warm, edgy and witty”. Her “bubbly and goofy” personality is more accurately described as pushy and annoying. Think of that annoying overly enthusiastic guy/girl who stops you whilst you’re in a hurry to catch your train. Even after politely insisting that you’re in a rush, they’ll still keep you and tell you about this amazing charity, and how much good you’ll be doing if you pledge a certain amount every month as a donation (and they always seem to leave out that they get commission from this, don’t they?).  That’s her.

What’s even more of a cringe to watch is the inevitable romance between Agent Grant Ward (Brett Dalton) and herself. It’s such a cliche.

He’s your typical icy manly man, she’s your “warm”, “goofy”, “lovable”, yet still independent, lady, who comes in and teaches him a thing or two about being a human with emotions, he warms up to her, they get together, the end.

Oh, and let’s not forget Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) from The Avengers (Yes! Coulson lives!). I don’t really have much of an opinion about him- and that’s the problem. He’s funny sometimes, but mostly he’s just a forgettable character.

This show is lucky I’m the type to give shows a whole season for a chance at redemption, before ditching it for a good. So here’s hoping things get better. Oh, and I really do hope we see more of Cobie Smulder’s (Robin from How I Met Your Mother) character cuz she is lookin’ fine!

 

Leave a Reply

